Dirty Glasses!

Have you ever put on a pair of sun glasses, or reading glasses that have smudges all over the lenses?  That has to be one of the most frustrating things in my life!  It seems as though every time I turn around, my young son, or may spunky daughters have left their mark on my glasses.  Today was not different.  Except my paradigm shifted.

Paradigm shift from dirty glasses?  Come on Ryan…  That is a little bit of a stretch!  You’re right, but it is something I deal with daily and sometimes even hourly when I am wrestling with my young children.  I especially like to clean my glasses when my wife walks into the room, if you know what I mean (wink, wink).   Nothing better than having clean glasses in order to see all of the beautiful things in this life!  So what was the paradigm shift?  Clouded glasses!

As I reflect specifically on 2014 I realized there were many times where my glasses were clouded.  Many times when my focus in life was distracted by all of the many things great things I could do.  Steve Jobs said it best when he said “People think focus means saying yes to the things you’ve got to focus on.  But that’s not what it means at all.  It means saying no to the hundred other good ideas that there are.  You have to pick carefully.” In other words, cleaning off your glasses so you can focus on the things critical to the success of your business and your life.

 

Leave a Reply

