If there is one thing I have learned in my life, it is that there is so many lessons that can be learned if we pause for a moment and take a look a the past.  Some of our pasts convince us that we never what to go through what our parents have gone through.  Other pasts play a key role in the success we are having now and the path for success in the future.  I think Rafiki the monkey from the Lion King said it best, “Oh yes, the past can hurt.  But the way I see it is you can either run from it, or you can learn from it.”  I couldn’t agree more.  If we truly want to become better in our lives then we MUST look at the past as a learning experience, learn from it and move on.

I don’t believe in coincidences.  I believe we all meet people in our lives for a purpose.  Some of these people are in the world to try to destroy us, others are in our lives to enhance us.  Our task is to quickly identify which ones are which and then nurture the relationships with those who will enhance our lives.  It is very easy to be deceived, so be careful.  One of the best ways to identify those who can bless our lives is by looking at past experiences with those people currently in your lives. I believe similar people have some of the same characteristics and traits that lead them to act the way they do.  I also believe that past experiences/relationships can help us better dictate who we connect with and how we help them in their lives.  The past CAN hurt.  We MUST learn from it.

How do we learn from it?  By identifying key characteristics in people that you want to have in your life and then connecting with those people.  Stay away from the rest!  For me, there are many characteristics that I like to have in people I affiliate with.  Here are some of the characteristics of the people that I enjoy surrounding myself with.  Might help in your decision making process.

  1. Humility – I enjoy surrounding myself with people that believe their success is not derived from their own efforts, but the efforts of those around them.  They recognize that they do not know everything, and that there is something they can learn from everyone they come in contact with.
  2. Honesty – People who lie make me sick.  It is so much easier to just tell the truth.  It takes so much less effort to tell the truth then it does to lie and then try to figure out all the different ways of covering up a lie.
  3. Integrity – I believe in people that make decisions in their lives with a keen sense of consciousness in mind.  During my college years, I saw may times where my colleges were making decisions regarding tests, homework, etc that compromised their integrity.  Cheating on test, copying homework, all for a measly good grade in the class.  This type of effort in most cases can become a habit for the rest of their lives.  If they are willing to compromise their integrity on something with little to no meaning, what will happen in their lives when faced with real problems?
  4. Coachability – Now I don’t know if this is a real word, but, I like surrounding myself with other people who like to learn from each other, and are willing to learn from other people.

Like I mentioned before, experiences in the past have led me to a better understanding of the type of people I want to surround myself with.  What are other characteristics you look for in friends,  business partners, etc?

 

Leave a Reply

